building miles…

Building back a strong base and mileage after time off is never easy. I am pleased that my body and mind are not only remembering but craving the long runs. I attribute a few things to this: First my cross training. Mountain biking and rowing have given me a strong core and leg muscle. They have also kept my mind sharp. Second diet. I have been very proactive about fueling and recovery foods. Thirdly I am running for myself and the right reasons 🙂 This allows me to enjoy the journey.

I kicked off the holiday weekend with a 17 mile run yesterday, my longest run of the season so far. With every lap around Prospect park I leaped and tapped some leaves at this one tree that were just in reach. Silly I know but this little playful act recharged me, a reminder to work hard but also have fun with it all. Today brought a recovery row and stretching… and a little more muscle milk. Now onto celebrating the 4th with friends, fireworks, Women’s World Cup Soccer and some well earned beer and food 😉 Cheers!

Sweaty, salty and refueling post 17 mile run.

11717479_10206823619850324_2743951909235416408_o

Leave a Reply

